Back to School

In keeping with blogging etiquette it seems I should explain the recent boringness / stagnation of my young blog. But I don’t feel like it.
In fact, I did one really cool and blogworthy thing during my hiatus that I will share, as soon as I iron out all my rookie mistakes. However, if I was apologizing, I guess this is what I’d have to say:

September is one sneaky month: always turning up when you least expect it to officiate the end of “summer” and all the perks that came along with it, like holidays and the reasons /scapegoats for a little holiday mischief (aka “summer bunnies”). And, if you’re a mere lowly intern who’s had no real holiday since Christmas (the odd forced unpaid 1 week “vacations” and a few sick days don’t count), the end of your work contract springs up on you too.

I must admit, “That awkward moment when you realize you’re unemployed” was a very welcome one, especially as it coincided with my return to school. But it has meant a daily last minute rush to meet work deadlines between 9-5, followed by 3 hour lectures in the evening, for the past week or so. I was so excited about my impending new found freedom that I signed up for a billion classes, every day, including Saturdays. In the end all it got me was tired, depressed and incapable of feeling any remorse for ignoring the blog.

Even though I’ve been a working student for six years now, something in me finds it morally wrong, if not nonsensical. Perhaps it’s because I simply don’t get paid enough to compensate the exhaustion. Or perhaps it doesn’t suit my mental composition, natural sleeping patterns or childhood expectations which were based, I guess, on my parents’ experiences. For example, you know something is wrong when you discover an old pay slip revealing that one of your parents made more money when they were slightly older than you, even before calculating the inflation. According to this slightly informative but personally unhelpful report by the National Economic and Social Council (NESC),

The main problem in Kenya appears to be that millions of workers are engaged in some activity but the earnings received are not adequate to put them above the poverty line. Hence there are many “working poor.”

I can sort of relate. So forgive me for forgetting to blog, or get out of bed, or tidy my room sometimes.

The report, published in June 2010, also cites high labour costs among the main causes for unemployment in Kenya (which, to me, is a contradiction), along with “inappropriate labour market regulations such as minimum wages, jobs and inappropriate labour institutions”.

Remind me again, why do I even want to be employed? I think I’ll stay in school forever, thank you.

This isn’t to say I’m complaining about being an employmentally challenged millennial trapped in a struggling artist’s life. First of all, I’m pretty grateful that I can learn new things without having extra mouths to feed at the same time, unlike most of my classmates. And thank you to the 7 readers who stopped by the blog since last I checked in. Finally, of course, it pays to know I’m not alone. 

Kenyans jubilating during the promulgation of the new consstitution, August 27 2010. 40% are unemployed.

After two years of trial and error, I still have hope. I really think I have finally developed a master plan on how to get a job with some security of tenure in these rough times, whilst working from home. Anybody want to buy a master plan?

2 thoughts on “Back to School

Leave a Reply

