Investing in Girls and Women

For a few days, I had been toying with the idea of entering a photography competition for Women Deliver. The theme was “Invest in girls and women – it pays” and the prize was a full scholarship to attend the third Women Deliver Conference in Kuala Lumpur. I had a few good shots from around the usual markets I go to, but I still felt like something was missing.

On the day before the deadline, I decided to visit Kibera and take photos of girls and women thriving despite the challenges they face every day. I’d never been to Kibera alone, but luckily for me Charles, whom I’ve mentioned before here, knows the area. He told me which bus to take, where to get off, and where to ask further directions to a few girls’ schools in the area.

I had no doubt that I’d get some really good photos, particularly from Kibera School for Girls or Kibera Girls’ Soccer Academy. These are places I have only heard of and read about on the internet. Long story short, Kibera School for Girls didn’t allow me to take any photos and Kibera Girls’ Soccer Academy was closed, so I had to improvise. And my “money shot” didn’t win the prize, but it was so rewarding. Everyone I met was as cool and friendly as good people get. Here are some of my favourite pics from the ‘expedition’.

kibra 007

ngware 004

bright eyes brown skirts

seeds of change

footfall after football

toi 009

at the salon

walking home

***

Link to the winning picture by Srosh Anwar

 

Leave a Reply

